top of page

City of Angels: How I Made a Three Day Trip Across the Country Worthwhile


I'll give you an insider to how my vacations usually work:

1. Look for photo-ops on Pinterest.

2. Find directions to make these photo-ops possible.

3. Take as many pictures as I possibly can.

When I went to California, I had only three days to make flying six hours worth it. My main purpose for flying across the country was to visit University of Southern California. However, that would only take up one afternoon, leaving me two and a half days to do whatever I wanted.

My mom, also my personal photographer, traveled with me to Los Angeles and together we embarked on a road trip to various walls, cafes, and restaurants that I had found prior to the trip. It was almost like we were on a scavenger hunt. We went to the Pink wall, the Angel wall, Santa Monica, Griffith Park, the Farmers Market, and many cafes in between. We packed so many little things into a three day trip and had a really great time (plus, we got a lot of pictures!).

Here are the places we went to!! I hope that one day when you have a chance to go to LA, you will find my list of several photo-ops useful!

Melrose Pink Wall: My favorite color is pink so this wall was definitely on my list of photo-ops. It is so cute and brightens your feed!

Paul Smith, 8221 Melrose Avenue

Angels Wall: When I went to California last year in 2016, I took the exact same picture. I love this wall so much and was so happy to see it again!

1135 E 5th St in the DTLA Arts District

California Dreamers Wall: Well my dream is to live in California one day so how could I not take a picture here?

Chinese Laundry Headquarters, 3485 La Cienega Blvd

Yellow, Black, and White Wave Mural: I love the color yellow! It is so happy and brightens my mood. Fill your life with the sunny shades of yellow!

1011 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA

Juice Crafters: I love acai bowls and this cafe definitely did not disappoint.

702 S Spring St, Los Angeles, CA 90014

Urth Cafe: One of my absolute favorites. I got a spinach quiche and the African Tea Latte (loved it!).

451 S Hewitt St, Los Angeles, CA 90013

8509 Melrose Ave West Hollywood, CA 90069

Shorthand: I don't know about you but I am absolutely obsessed with stationary stores. This little gem had such cute notebooks, cards, pens, etc.!

5030 York Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90042

Downtown LA Art District: I love this area. It is so cultural and aesthetically pleasing. There is always chill music in the background too.

Rodeo Drive: I may not buy anything on this famous boulevard but I sure do love walking through it.

Santa Monica Piers: My mom and I watched the sun set over Santa Monica Piers and it was absolutely beautiful. I love this area because there are so many food establishments near it. Plus, who doesn't love a cute ferris wheel?

Griffith Park: I love hiking in Griffith Park! Probably my favorite thing to do in Los Angeles. Once you get to the top, you can see a full view of the Hollywood sign and a skyline of Los Angeles.

The Original Farmers Market: I love fresh and healthy food! Especially when it is sold at a local farmers market!

6333 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90036

Los Angeles was as amazing and beautiful as always! I love taking pictures whenever I come here.

And if you don't find my list satisfying enough, check out Jennifer Lake's blog post to find more very aesthetically pleasing and instagram worthy walls! http://www.stylecharade.com/los-angeles-mural-and-colorful-wall-guide-page-1/

Love, Rach!

Check out my LA Vlog!

bottom of page