top of page

Sweet Escape//Vermont 2017


Waking up at 7 in the morning, taking a hot shower, sitting in front of the window, drowning in the sunrays as they reflected off the snow, submerging myself in a book. That only describes the mornings of this weekend trip to Vermont. Trapped in the stress of finals and hours of homework, this past weekend was a pleasant escape from reality as I put away my calculator and endless array of articles and history outlines.

For the first time in weeks, I allowed myself a weekend solely dedicated to relaxation and fun with my cousins. Yes, I did bring my school bag. Yes, I originally intended to study in the mornings or late at night. Yes, I did not originally plan to escape from reality completely. But, I ended up leaving my notebook open and never actually reading it. I decided to enjoy every minute of the three day weekend.

We arrived on Friday night, pulling up in our cars to find a simple red cabin in the woods. Walking in, we were greeted with a cozy fireplace, a large open space with living room on one side, dining table in the middle, and kitchen in the back. We turned on the string lights, creating the aesthetic and emptied our bags in our room. I shared a room with two other girls and we slept in a bunk bed (I slept on the bottom and of course I hit my head on the first night).

We stayed up until 4, talking and laughing (a bit too loud) and finally went to sleep. I woke up early on Saturday and enjoyed a fresh cup of coffee by the dining table. I did some homework but ultimately gave up and enjoyed the view outside as I waited for everyone to wake up. That day I went to the town with the girls where we found a cute little bookstore and I bought the National Geographic Best IG Pictures book. It's absolutely beautiful and extremely inspirational as it divulges in what it means to experience wanderlust. We stopped by the Moon Cafe, a small colorful store with a wide display of random trinkets meant to inspire and feed your mind, soul, and body. We bought chai tea and green smoothies, and snacked on blueberry scones. Afterwards, we stopped by the outlets and bought almond and avocado soaps from Crabtree & Evelyn and of course went to Kate Spade too. Played card games the rest of the night and concluded with a Bible Study.

On Sunday we went snowmobiling as some went skiing or snowboarding. Although we ended up flipping our snowmobile (thank God no one was hurt), it definitely made for a good story and a fun adventure. I would definitely do it again. We drove into another quaint town where we went to another good vibes cafe and bought maple lattes from Vermont Coffee Company and sandwiches made with local cheese. That night I chose to spend a long time reading a devotional book as well as finishing a personal book. I listened to music and chilled on my bed while the guys watched football. Then we all played our own version of the show Chopped and made random food using ingredients like pancake mix, Dr. Pepper, eggs, and peanut butter. Didn't taste or look very good, but it was fun.

On Monday, I woke up early, took pictures outside, then warmed up with coffee and apple&blueberry pancakes. We cleaned our rooms, packed up our bags, then we all went on a walk through a snow-covered park. After taking numerous pictures, we returned to the cabin, picked up the rest of our things, and set out on the road trip home.

We ended the sweet escape with maple lattes from Lumber Jack's coffee and many cheese and jam samplings from the Vermont country store.

Perfect way to relax and unwind right before finals week.

Love, Rach

bottom of page