top of page

Today I Am Thankful//Gratitude November Journal #2


Thanksgiving is over but in my books, fall isn't -- at least until December 1st and today is November 30th so

I am so thankful for my friends. This is basically an extension of my last gratitude journal because in this house, my friends are my family. In fact, I refer to my friends at school as my fam and my best friend outside of school as practically a sister. These four girls have added to my life in ways I couldn't have imagined. The memories, the pictures, the lessons, the inside jokes, the shoulders to cry on, the whispers, the secrets, the millions and millions of laughs, each and every moment.

Agata. My soul sister.

She loves chai tea lattes, working out, coffee, pictures, vlogs, blogs, large mugs, cozy sweaters, books, baths, face masks, traveling, & so much more. We have so much in common, it's amazing. Anytime I want to go to the city or take a couple of videos or even just get advice about what I should do with a couple spare minutes of my time, I know I can always count on her to think of something vibey, fun, and cozy for me to do. We also both love going to cafes and even now have our own favorite spots picked out: Housing Works and the Spot Cafe. I love her to death and even though we don't have any classes together, we still manage to find each other in the halls almost every period.

Julia. Queen. Barbie. Regina.

We walk together, we talk together, we eat together - well, we have four classes together.

In fact, when I informed one of my classmates that I was doing a project with Julia, she quickly responded, "Well of course, it's Julia." Our lockers are right next to each other so we are practically inseparable. One of the classic memories we share is our freshman year biology project -- a time when we looked like we were twelve and we mispronounced every other word (example: begin="beguine") in our book. Our daily lunch conversations and predicting our future through miscellaneous buzzfeed questions always help me get through the day.

Carmela. My sister in Christ.

I know I can always count on Carmela to be my instagram consultant, give me advice about guys (UGH BOY PROBLEMS ARE THE WORST), obsess over Once Upon a Time with, and have Godly conversations. She is always the one I share a bed with when we go on vacation, the one I'm going to share my locker with next year, the one who I always twin with. Like Agata is the mini Julia, Carmela is the mini me -- which is ironic because Agata and Carmela are older than both Julia and I am. She understands my love for fairytales and accepts my basic nature. She encourages me all the time and I love her for all of that. Two more years then we're off to California!

My fam. We're the basic squad that takes a bunch of pictures. We're the group that when only two of us matched for Halloween, multiple people asked if it was a group costume. We're the group that even our physics teacher said once, "Oh and the pumpkin bread girl (Agata), that's the fourth person in your squad."

School wouldn't be the same without them.

Jessica. My best friend since Pre-K, my sister in Christ, & my future maid of honor.

I love this girl so much. She has been there for me since day 1 and I am extremely grateful for her.

It all goes back to the day she stole my brownie in elementary school - since then, we have been inseparable.

We know each other's deepest secrets and we understand each other. Although we are polar opposites, we prove that opposites attract.

Polaroids with fluffy pillows, our days in California, baking vegan cookies endlessly, soul killing on the Sandy Cove dock, avatar in our rooms, countless scenarios, Gilmore Girls on the couch.

Sometimes we hang out and literally say nothing and it's okay. And sometimes we sit next to each other and we text as if we were miles apart. And sometimes we talk for hours.

Our relationship is very versatile and it works for us. I'm so thankful that God put her in my life and I can call her my best friend and sister.

(Also, we don't even go to the same school and all her friends know me -- that should say something about our friendship)

I love my friends so much.

They have had a huge role in many aspects of my life and I will forever be grateful for them.

I cannot wait to see what God has in store for each and every one of these friendships.

Don't take the people around you for granted.

Remember, you don't go to high school to find your husband, you go to find your bridesmaids.

Love, Rach :)

bottom of page