top of page

Today I Am Thankful//Gratitude November Journal #1

Happy November!! If you're anything like me, you are probably singing Christmas songs already and window shopping all the basic, aesthetic, winter vibe home decor items that scream that the holidays are coming!! But, before December 25th comes rolling around, we cannot forget Thanksgiving.

"Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him."

Colossians 3:16-17

Thanksgiving is a time to dwell on the numerous blessings in your life. No matter how dull or problematic your life may seem, there is always at least one thing to be grateful for. I thank God that I have a loving family and many friends who are beautiful inside and out.

I plan on posting a gratitude journal each week. In light of the name of my blog, "Sunday Night Journal," each post will be a chance for me to reflect on the blessings of my life and look through the past and present. I appreciate what I have and I hope I inspire you to do the same as Thanksgiving approaches in TWENTY ONE DAYS!!!

My first journal describes my appreciation and gratitude for my family.

I have a beautiful mom and an amazing dad who are the perfect examples of a loving couple. They are both Christians and have raised my brother and me in the faith as well, to which I thank God for. They have taught us the most important qualities of being kind and generous. They encourage and support me in all my aspirations, including creating and investing my time in this blog. They stay up with me late at night when I do my homework at the dining table. They constantly give me encouraging words and my dad even leaves me motivational letters; and even if I grumble about how their words of encouragement don't mean anything when it comes to the ultimate test grade, I really do appreciate their support.

My mom is my personal photographer and my dad is my tea-maker. Whenever I go out with my family or even just bake a simple dish, my mom is always willing to give me a photo-shoot. Although I don't give her enough photo credits, much of the aesthetics of my blog are due to her. My dad: well, he claims that he cannot help me with many things related to school as much as he was able to in the past, making tea at 2 in the morning when I'm up late studying is help enough.

God encourages all of us to obey our parents and honor them, and for the most part, I don't find that difficult.

I may not have the closest relationship with my older brother, Josh. We may not tell each other our deepest secrets or share many common interests, but I know I can always count on him. Although he constantly beats me in Mario Kart and teases me about being basic, he's more than just the typical older brother. I remember when I was in Vermont last year and I was really sick in bed. I had been asleep when he came and checked on me but his girlfriend, Benya, later on informed me about his action of being the protective older brother. I'm extremely grateful for having him as my brother because like I said, we may not be the closest siblings, but I know he cares for me and when it comes down to it, all our differences (like him loving football vs. me loving shopping) don't matter. Besides, we never get into fights so what can be a better sibling relationship?

Point is, I love my family and am so thankful for them. I hope this inspires all of you to really think about the loved ones in your life and why you're so grateful for them.

Remember, no matter the issues or problems or obstacles in your life, there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for.

"I will give thanks to you, LORD, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds." Psalm 9:1

Love, Rach :))

bottom of page