top of page

Grilled Veggie Pesto Pizza


Vegetarian/Vegan Option

Grilled Veggie Pesto Pizza is such an easy and quick lunch. I first made this in the Hamptons with my friends and instantly fell in love. So here's the recipe!! :

Crust: Pita Bread

Base Sauce: Avocado Pesto --- it all depends on how much you want and it's different for every taste, but for me, I love using 2 avocados, 4 garlic cloves, maybe some pine nuts if I have, and a LARGE handful of basil (about 1 cup). I puree everything together with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil until I get a nice creamy consistency. Then I spread that on the pita bread. And if I have leftover, I put a little oil and lemon on top (to prevent the avocado from turning brown) and then store it in the fridge to be used for pizza or pasta another day.

Cheese: The first time I made it, I used fresh mozzarella and I definitely prefer it because it's creamy, goes so well with basil, and melts very nicely. This time, I used Havarti cheese which also worked out really well because it was a smooth white cheese. Vegan option is to use either vegan cheese (such as the brand Daiya) or no cheese (really good either way).

Toppings: VEGGIES!!! I sauteed the vegetables first (grilling is also recommended). I cut up zucchini, broccoli, mushrooms, peppers, and onions (my preferred choice but depends on your own taste). Using a skillet, I sauteed the veggies with oil, salt, and pepper. When the veggies are soft and to your liking, place them on the pita bread (already with the pesto and cheese). Then, to melt the cheese and make the pita bread a little toasty, place the pizza into the oven at 400 degrees for 5 to 10 minutes or until the cheese melts. Then take it out and enjoy right away.

Total time: less than 30 minutes.

So simple and so quick. As you can see, I did not put specific measurements because this is a dish to your preferred taste. Some might like more salt and some might like different veggies. I hope you try it out and let me know if you like it!

bottom of page